Membership and Fees

All students undertaking lower (bachelor’s degree) or higher (master’s degree, master of science in technology, architect, landscape architect) university degrees in Aalto University are members of Aalto University Student Union. Students undertaking scientific or artistic doctoral degrees and exchange students can join the student union if they wish to do so. However, the benefits of doctoral students are more limited than those of basic degree students. Doctoral students are not eligible for the services of the Finnish Student Health Service (FSHS).

Students who are absent during academic terms are members of the student union, but are not eligible for student union services and do not pay the membership fee. Absent students do not have a vote in the Representative Council Elections.

Students who have a study right to fee-based / separate / complementary studies (non-degree) cannot join the student union.

Student union membership begins when the student accepts the right to study and ends with graduation or when the right to study is renounced.

You can find detailed instructions for the enrollment at Into.